Blocking out

The next logical step on my quest to master garment construction is to learn how to create my own patterns… So I started reading…and the books are trying to explain to me what the difference between a block and a pattern is but I could not understand this difference because it just never occurred to me that I would need to have some basic templates (what blocks are essentially) on hand to manipulate and create various patterns for a particular design.

So a block begets a pattern…

Well the most fun part of this is discovering that i can create basic blocks (e.g. bodice) directly on the dress form — which is currently my half scale form, it’s small but practical as it allows me to use fabric scraps for experimentation.

I have this feeling I’m probably going about this the wrong way but it doesn’t bother me! Learning something on your own means you don’t have to follow the rules!!

20130222-173942.jpg

Leave a Reply

